Our Trip to NYC

Sam and I have just got back from our weekend trip to the wonderful Big Apple. We celebrated Sam’s birthday, and caught up with our daughter Laura, her boyfriend David and met our first grand puppy Lilo for the first time.

It was a time for family, fun, catch up and adventure. NYC does not disappoint, nor does it stop. Right from the get go we hit the ground running. From the crazy (almost death defying) ride in our yellow cab up to Yonkers. To our people watching trips on the metro to get into the city, it started with a bang and never stopped.

You meet some in the train! We were treat to an awesome busker playing the drums. He drummed up beat African music, to soulful Christian tunes. He was good.

We then took in the sites of the harbor, took  obligatory pictures of Lady Liberty and watched as the river cruises ferried tourists around the shore all from the vantage point of a great restaurant called Pier A. Fabulous food, even if I got confused when she asked what temperature I wanted my burger! I think hot, what she meant was how did I like my burger cooked. Oh!

Then we took in the tour at One World Observatory. Oh my goodness, the elevator ride was worth the admission price alone. This is one stop not to miss, seriously. The 360 degree view of the city was stunning. The iPad you could rent (a mere $15) that gave information on NYC’s landmarks, to the elevator ride back down was brilliant.

Saturday, we went back to the city, it was show time. Almost Rotten, this show is one to put on your list. I laughed till I cried. Shakespeare, I will never look at you the same again, forsooth I shall not….see what I did? To get that joke, you have to see the show.

I got to hang out with my favorite Bond, Daniel.

Then it was back to Yonkers, and the Irish bars and the friendly banter and Irish fare. We even had an Irish breakfast in the best Irish coffee shop there is.

Sunday we were off to the Bronx Zoo. If you love zoo’s, and who doesn’t, this is the one for you. $33 seemed a little steep, until we covered the miles, the animals and the experiences that this wonderful zoo gives. I loved it, it was amazing. Lions, and Tigers, and Bears…Oh my. It had everything.

Take a look at some of the pictures. It was a great trip, and precious memories were made. If you are looking for a city trip, and like the hustle and bustle of a busy city that doesn’t sleep, but want to add in some small town charm. We can help you plan that. Call us, and let us help you plan those memories.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

